Grading · General Collecting

CGC Pristine 10 vs Gem Mint 10: What's the Difference?

How CGC's Pristine 10 differs from its Gem Mint 10: centering, corners, labels, old 9.5 slabs, and what dated Charizard sales show about the price gap.

Last updated ● Medium confidence Topic: Grading 3 sources

Quick answer: CGC gives out two different 10s. Pristine 10 is its top grade: perfect 50/50 centering and no flaws to the naked eye, on a special label. Gem Mint 10 is a near-perfect card that misses Pristine on one point, such as centering up to 55/45 on the front (CGC grading scale, accessed 2026-10-07). On the one card we checked, the price gap was large (see the dated sales below).

The two 10s side by side

CGC Pristine 10CGC Gem Mint 10
OverallVirtually flawless to the naked eyeA 10 overall, but misses Pristine on at least one criterion
Centering50/50About 55/45 or better on the front; 75/25 or better on the back
CornersNot spelled out separatelyPerfect to the naked eye; Mint+ under 10× magnification
SurfaceFlawless color and registrationNo print spots; perfect gloss; no surface flaws
LabelSpecial Pristine 10 labelStandard label

Source: CGC grading scale, accessed 2026-10-07. Wording is our summary; read CGC’s page for exact criteria.

Naked eye or magnification? CGC’s one-line Pristine definition says “virtually flawless to the naked eye.” The same page, though, says the Pristine label is for cards that are flawless under 10× magnification. It also requires a Gem Mint 10 to have corners that hold up as Mint+ under 10×. Since Pristine sits above Gem Mint, our reading is that Pristine cards are judged under magnification too. That’s our interpretation of CGC’s wording, not a separate CGC statement.

Below 10: CGC centering limits

CGC publishes numeric centering limits below 10 for sports and non-sports cards only. For TCG cards such as Pokémon, its lower grades describe handling and manufacturing defects instead of centering numbers.

CGC gradeFront centering (sports/non-sports)Back centering
Mint+ 9.5No number; “exceptional centering” can lift a Mint card to 9.5—
Mint 960/40 or better90/10
NM/Mint 8 and NM+ 7.565/35Not stated
Near Mint 770/30Not stated
Ex/NM 675/25Not stated
VG/Ex+ 4.585/15Not stated
Very Good+ 3.590/10Not stated

Source: CGC grading scale, accessed 2026-10-07. These are CGC’s figures for its own grades. PSA, BGS and SGC set their own limits; see PSA vs BGS vs CGC vs SGC.

Old CGC and CSG slabs: the 9.5 → 10 change

CGC used to label near-perfect cards Gem Mint 9.5 (under both the CGC Trading Cards and the CSG names) and had a separate Perfect 10. CGC now counts old Gem Mint 9.5 cards as Gem Mint 10 in its population report and registry. Perfect 10 is a retired grade, and existing Perfect 10 cards keep that status (CGC grading scale, accessed 2026-10-07).

What that means for you:

  • An older slab reading “Gem Mint 9.5” sits in the Gem Mint 10 population today. It is not a Pristine 10.
  • When you compare sales, check the label date and wording. A “9.5” and a “10” may be the same tier under different labels.

Designations that can appear with a grade

CGC also uses designations in place of a numeric grade:

  • Authentic (AU): genuine and unaltered, but can’t receive a numeric grade (for example, undersized).
  • Authentic Altered (AA): genuine, but altered, such as trimmed or recolored.
  • Authentic ART: a card with custom art applied, from a CGC Artist Account or a qualifying Signature Series submission.

Autographs get a separate 5–10 grade with no half grades.

Source: CGC grading scale, accessed 2026-10-07. Check CGC’s page for the exact meaning of each before you list a card.

What the gap looks like in sales: one example

We checked the 1999 Pokémon Base Set Unlimited Charizard #4 on PriceCharting, accessed 2026-10-07. Dated sold listings:

GradeSold pricesDates
CGC Pristine 10$20,800 (one sale, eBay)Jan 26, 2026
CGC Gem Mint 10$4,963.72 (Goldin) to $9,491Feb 16 – Jul 5, 2026
CGC Gem Mint 10$6,250 (Heritage)Oct 1, 2026
PSA 10 (for comparison)$20,000 – $37,1002026

We excluded rows that were clearly a different card (for example, modern Celebrations reprints mixed into the list).

Read this carefully:

  • The Pristine figure is one sale. One sale is not a market. The listing title claimed a population of 11. Pokemon Pricing gives the same figure from CGC’s report as of Oct 6, 2026: on CGC’s plain Unlimited Charizard line, 11 Pristine 10s and 284 Gem Mint 10s (plus 1 Perfect 10) out of 14,801 graded. Pop reports change weekly.
  • On these dates, that one Pristine sale was about 2–4× the Gem Mint 10 range and close to the low end of the PSA 10 range.
  • This is one card. The gap will differ for other cards and may not exist for low-value cards.

PriceCharting summary values (algorithmic, not sales) for the same card on 2026-10-07: CGC 10 $6,001.50; CGC 10 Pristine $20,800; PSA 10 $24,077.50; BGS 10 $31,301; BGS 10 Black Label $156,505; SGC 10 $14,447. The CGC Pristine summary equals the single sale above, which shows how thin that data is. More context: Base Set Charizard value.

Should you aim for Pristine?

You can’t choose the grade; the grader does. But you can decide whether a card is worth sending at all:

  • Measure centering first. A card that is visibly off 50/50 can still get Gem Mint 10, but it won’t get Pristine.
  • Look at the corners and surface under a loupe. Gem Mint 10 calls for Mint+ corners under 10× magnification and no print spots.
  • Price the likely outcome, not the best one. Use Gem Mint 10 or 9 sales for the math, and treat Pristine as an upside you can’t count on.
  • Check the fee and the value cap. CGC tiers have declared-value limits (CGC fees). See should I grade my card?

FAQ

Is CGC Pristine 10 better than CGC Gem Mint 10? Yes. Pristine is CGC’s highest grade. Gem Mint 10 is the next step down.

Is a CGC Gem Mint 10 the same as a PSA 10? Both are each company’s “Gem Mint 10,” but the standards and resale prices differ. On the Charizard example above, PSA 10 sales ran far above CGC Gem Mint 10 sales.

My CGC slab says 9.5. Is that a 10 now? If it reads “Gem Mint 9.5” from CGC’s older scale, CGC now counts it as Gem Mint 10. The label itself doesn’t change, so buyers may still treat it as a 9.5.

Does BGS have a Pristine too? Yes. BGS also uses Pristine 10 and a Black Label. They are different scales from CGC’s. See PSA vs BGS vs CGC vs SGC.

Sources

  1. How Many Unlimited Base Set Charizards Were Printed? – Pokemon Pricing (Oct 6, 2026) · accessed October 7, 2026
  2. CGC Cards Grading Scale · accessed October 7, 2026
  3. Pokemon Base Set Charizard #4 (Unlimited) – PriceCharting · accessed October 7, 2026

Spotted an error? See our corrections policy.